The Bright Lights of the City

Backblipping after a few days away. This was Soho in London last Wednesday. L and I got the train down and after checking into our accommodation - another visit to an LSE Hall of Residence, this one on Drury Lane - she got the tube from Covent Garden off to the O2 to see Fleetwood Mac while I made my way into Soho to meet some people for a meal. I had a bit of time to kill so went to Soho Square which I remembered visiting last time I was in the capital. I was wandering about trying to find Kirsty's bench when I thought I heard someone behind me calling my name. I turned round to see A, who did the same photography course as me and who now lives and works in London as a freelance assistant. She and a friend were also killing time before heading off to a party. I remembered another serendipitous meeting with A in another city. After catching up with how we have both been getting on we then headed our separate ways. I went, a little nervously, to meet a good friend from blipfoto I had chatted to extensively online but never met in person. She was there with her husband and also a couple of friends who had featured on her blips in the past. And I needn't have worried as we spent an excellent evening that raced by all too quickly. We talked about photography and creativity and all manner of things. And they even arranged a little birthday cake for me to start off my weekend of birthday celebrations, which was a lovely surprise. I then met L back at the tube station to hear her tales of the concert, which she had really enjoyed, and in some ways that really surprised her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.