Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Lir Theatre

Indecision ... indecision ... indecision ...

It was almost this one, and then this won today's blip spot on a toss-up. There were a few other possible candidates too, because I'm finding it really hard to stop clicking away with my new camera and playing around with it and getting to know it.

Anyway, I was in town this afternoon on a mission: to buy tickets for Priscilla, Queen of the Desert for 19th October in the Grand Canal Theatre (I refuse to refer to it by its ridiculous branded name). Our Bray friends had booked already and suggested to Carl yesterday that we might come along as well. Since I refuse to have anything to do with Ticketmaster, I opted to go to the box office in person instead.

Mission accomplished, I went on a bit of a tour around the general area of Grand Canal Dock, popping in to the recently opened hotel (strangely named The Marker), and the Ely Gastro bar and Café Bar H, which proudly displays outside a quote from somebody or other who describes it as 'the most beautiful pub in Dublin' (I don't think so).

Anyway, the blip is kind of sort of appropriate right now because the Dublin Theatre Festival began a few days ago, and the photo shows the Lir theatre on Pearse Street, a place I've yet to visit. I don't think it's one of the Festival venues, but passing it today has reminded me yet again that I must check out its programme to see if anything takes my fancy. It's very fine architecturally anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.