A Spaniard in Salisbury?

Complete with a Catalan beret (so I am told), this dapper fellow was dining al fresco at Salisbury's only Spanish tapas bar and restaurant.

A dull day, duller than a Conservative Minister's speech at the Tory Conference and it was round the Market, for a snap or two.

In the end, this was only one of the two pictures taken, the first being this gentleman thumbing through his wallet. I immediately liked that shot and was about to take another, when some people moved between him and my Tamron SP 70-300mm VC zoom. I stepped sideways and he saw me, just as I took it - I then rather crazily pretended to take pictures of the local architecture, perhaps showing him that I was indeed a foolhardy tourist and not just taken a close-up of himself.

Bumped into a friend afterward, who enthusiastically said 'ooh, he's even got a Catalan beret on!', we talked about my recent barge Blip picture at Devizes as she volunteers at Devizes as a lock-keeper on the Canal there and she and her husband own their own barge, also on the Kennet & Avon. Much prattle about Stonehenge also, now that the new Visitor Centre there has announced its supposed opening date - 3 days before this year's Winter Solstice.

So, no, no idea if this chap is a Spaniard or English but I just loved that dashing swashbuckling beard and the cravat, the reason why I left the image in colour.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.