Challenge

As I was wandering around the house last night in search of something to blip (I ended up with the very overprocessed star trail) H set me a challenge...

Blip a stranger!

Eeeek, not something I've ever really done before as I find wandering up to total strangers and asking if I can take their picture, rather daunting. Especially as I am lurching old bloke and not the cool Proper Stranger Blipper that JKJ10 is.

However a challenge is a challenge and so off I went.

I decided that I would make my way onto Parkers Piece and blip the first person I saw with interesting hair or someone who was having their photo taken. As luck would have it there was load of Graduates there and so it did not take me long, I plucked up courage and asked this Graduate who mentioned that her hair was a mess but yes I could take her picture. Bingo..

Then I asked the next person I saw having their photo taken.

Apart from the rubbish framing, lack of focus and crap light I was feeling quite chuffed.

I was then accosted by a bloke handing out leaflets, I said I'd have a leaflet if I could take his photo, deal done. He had a mate, and with them moving about a me trying to stick to f2.8 I had to take two pictures so I got each one of them in focus. here and here.

They moved out of the way and I saw This woman having her picture taken, so I asked nicely and was allowed to join in. I think mono is better but I wanted the blip to be more or less straight out of the camera, which it is.

I'd had enough, so I got a sandwich and legged it back to the office.

On the way I saw.

People Pondering
A bloke reading a map
A man in a hat

Finally I saw this old lady outside a shop with a display of ballet shoes, it is very rare that I see a story in a picture but there is one here.

Things I have learned.

If you are shooting with a 100mm lens, remember to take the 1.4 convertor off it, that way when you step back to frame someone you might not trip over a bike ;)

Thank you for your attention

large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.