MaryannA

By MaryannA

How do I say Goodbye?

... till we meet again! This is a farewell filled with history, love and emotion. In 2006, when I came here to care for my ailing brother, I could never even imagine that this day would ever be happening. March of 2006, our mother passed at the age of 95. She had been dealing with Alzhiemers for several years. In April of 2006, my brother's wife, Mary, passed after a long battle with breast cancer. Shortly after that, our close cousin Genevieve also left us to join the angels in heaven. I thought that was one of the toughest times in our lives and when John took ill in November of 2006, I knew I needed to be by his side no matter what. Even though he was sick and going through a lot of medical procedures, we always made the best of every day and continued to make plans for when he would finally get better. Sadly, he lost his battle two years ago today on October 1, 2011.

Now, two years later, I have made the difficult decision to leave the house that he loved so much so I can begin to live my life anew. After my serious illness last year with a rare form (of a rare form) of cancer that the initial doctors deemed inoperable; I went to Boston's Dana Farber Cancer Center and had the top surgeon say she could operate and possibly get it all. I am grateful and blessed to be here and showing NO signs of cancer at this time.

So today is the day I planned to be my last day here at the house in Ashby. It is with bittersweet emotions that I say Goodbye to 556 and all of Ashby and my neighbors and friends who surrounded me and always made me feel safe while I lived here. I welcome Luke, Schuyler and Little Charlie as they will prepare this house to be their home and a special place for many years to come!

The weather is awesome today and It will be a nice trip to my new home. Thanks to my son and daughter for the endless time and energy and love you have given as you help me through this big change in my life. I am blessed to have you both in my life. My proudest achievements and my happiest times are always when we are together. To my sister in Florida... I'll be there for a visit sooner than you think!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.