Plus ça change...

By SooB

Muppet

Leaving the house mid-morning I remembered something to add to my shopping list, since the spare key entrusted to TallGirl a while ago has 'disappeared'. "Get spare keys cut" I was muttering to myself as I grabbed my bag and slammed the door behind me.... Leaving the only copy of the house key in the country... still in the house.

More in hope than expectation, I wandered around the back of the house in case one of the kids had ignored my repeated requests for them to close their bedroom windows when they go to school. No such luck. And so I found myself, with hand wrapped in a cloth and shopping bag, smashing my kitchen window with a block of wood. You have to hit windows surprisingly hard to make them break...

Off then to the DIY store for a new pane, kids from school, kids back to school, new keys cut.... With the old putty all (finally - after a battle involving most of the tools in the house) off, I was off to get the kids from school. Out of the door I wandered, hitting send on an email to Mr B and - you've guessed it - slammed the door behind me with, this time, all FOUR keys inside.

Sigh.

Entry to the house this time was easier (I had started scraping the old putty from a wobbly pane, so could just lever it out with a small garden fork) but felt all the more foolish...

Now, the windows are all back together, but my day is gone. I'm left with a lacerated* finger and a strong sense of muppetness.

There is now a key buried in the back garden.

*OK, that might be an exaggeration, but it sounds much more dramatic than 'grazed'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.