Ochre

13.3C starting dull then wet and windy.

Thank you to all who stopped by to comment on my 730th blip yesterday and propelling my bright green shot to the spotlight :-)

Probably the worst day of weather we have had for a while. With rain forecast for the afternoon I decided that morning would be best for looking for a blip. Milk was beginning to run short so Maeve the Deerhound and I got in the car and went through to Arbroath. Plenty of places there to get milk and a harbour to have a wander round and find a blip.

The lock gate was closed to the inner basin and a lot of fishermen seemed to be hanging around in cars and standing chatting. Many of their boats were in the inner basin. If they were waiting for the lock gate to open and then heading out I hoped they had very good sea legs. The sea was looking very rough and driving in towards the shore.

I have chosen a subdued colour to go with the subdued weather. Yellow Ochre. I find it a useful colour when painting. It suits the Scottish landscape and can be very handy when mixing greys or what one tutor we had on a painting holiday wisely called tinted neutrals (ultramarine blue, yellow ochre, and a touch of crimson are my basic mix for grey).

Maeve and I did go for a short walk after lunch. The rain was starting by then so we didn't go very far at all. We looked down towards the shore from the road up to the church and could see the waves roaring in towards Westhaven over the rocks. The fishermen were wise to bring the boats out of the water at the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.