The Pevensie Dilemma

By PevensieDilemma

What's Your Why?

Recently, I've been delivering some leadership material that encourages delegates to consider their 'why'.

Why do you do what you do?

Why not someone else?

Why is this your chosen path?

When we're asked to talk about ourselves, we'll often rhyme off what it is we do.

We'll identify with a particular role or title before even considering why we decided to choose that particular direction.

Finding our 'why' in the midst of the what and the how is a very powerful exercise in self reflection and self awareness.

We can discover our real motivations.

As you'd expect, this particular piece of learning has stayed with me (you'd think I was a reflector or something) and I've brought it in to several conversations since.

Tonight, I was doing some personal coaching with a friend and we spent a lot of our time discussing our 'why' and our motivations.

I always glean just as much insight from these sessions as she does!

We changed it up tonight though and opted for some different scenery.

I had a cheeky latte whilst awaiting her arrival and then we moved our session to the pub!

No parties ensued.


Why do you do what you do...?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.