Emma D's diary

By EmmaDrabble

At home: Drawn out....x

It's been a long day.

I arrived home to find my children had used my sketches as their own portfolio material. That each picture had been elaborated on. In only a child's mind, would they know how to craft thick lines into previously sketched pencil lines. Random shapes graffiti about the page.

There is the artist in me that says, hey ho...that's my children 'reworking' my ideas. A development from my eyes into theirs. I mean, who defines what graffiti is anyway?

Then there is the other more selfish part of me. The part that says, "I loved my sketch of Ella" . It was mine. My interpretation of my own child. Is nothing sacred in this house? Nothing that I can own, just for me. Just because I am a parent, does that mean I have to share everything?

The more pressing point, is that its a special country show tomorrow. I wanted to enter in that sketch of ells into the drawing competition at the Trumpet Ploughing Match. But, now it is not to be.

I swore, I would give up drawing, and for that matter taking pictures. Having children gives you inspiration of one sort but takes it away in another. I said that for 10 years. It's about having the time to do it right. Andrew said, "Draw me". His sister in law, Jo said "Draw!" Her husband and artist said, " So Draw something else". So I have. I won't give up again. Not this time. X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.