Emma D's diary

By EmmaDrabble

At Home: Greyfriars Bobby....

I heard about the story of little Greyfriars Bobby's bronze statue today. It made me smile thinking of the passersby rubbing their cuffs on the little dogs nose. They say, its in the name of good luck. Good luck aside, the bronze has worn away, leaving the faithful nightwatchman's dog without a nose.

Its a lovely thing to think that after all this time, that a little dogs warm gesture of faithfulness still continues. Folklore has it that Bobby remained in the Edinburgh church grave yard for 14 years after his companion John Gray died. The little dog died himself in 1872.

The inscription on the little dogs grave reads: "Let his devotion and loyalty be a lesson to us all."

I know my landscape from home is hardly a scottish city scape, and a misty graveyard. As soon as I drew my camera, I thought of the little dog, having read victorian descriptions of cold, smoggy, brick lined streets and mist laden suns. A hard life for a little dog and its hard working owner. Companionship through hard times, thats something very special...x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.