Tech Marketing Guy

By tmg

The start of soccer

This weekend, I signed up a little TMG for town soccer( or football as our friends in the UK call it). Of course, our little guy is not old enough to worry about details such as rules and scoring and so it will be more like kick and chase. I am very excited about it and volunteered to coach the team as well. Of course, there are no formal games and so our job is more about moral support and maintaining interest rather than traditional strategy or competitiveness.

I view the start of soccer with a mix of melancholy and excitement. It is melancholic because I see this little guy growing up before my eyes. I remember (and documented in both still and video) when he first started walking and it is amazing that here is ready to start soccer. How the time has flown by! On the flip side, I am excited to be joining him in this adventure as his coach and future sideline supporter. I remember how much I loved it when my dad came to my soccer games and cannot wait to do the same.

If my little guy stumbles on the post someday in the future, I want him to know that I am proud of him and cannot wait to see him grow up. It doesn't really matter whether he is good at soccer or any other sport, but that he is having fun, and no matter what happens, I will always be his sideline supporter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.