The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Bowood 2013 #26

The power was off at Lozarithm Towers while the electricians fitted an optimiser gizmo to complement my solar panels and reduce my energy consumption further, so unable to work at home I took off to Bowood for an hour.

My attempts at buying afternoon coffee at the restaurant had been thwarted on previous occasions by it having closed earlier in the day than the time before, and each time earlier than the new closing time I'd been given when I asked, so I thought I was onto a winner by turning up at lunchtime, but when I got there it was closed again. Apparently, with the ending of the school holidays it would now only open at weekends. This was a double whammy as my reason for preferring the restaurant to the café at the entrance, is that the café is always beset with noisy babies and toddlers, rendering it a no go area for me, whereas the restaurant, when I've been there, has had a quieter, more mature clientèle.

I had a stroll over the gardens adjacent to the House and down to the Lake, before walking back to Tractor Ted's. The Fresian calves, Sam and George, were now 11 days old and more settled, and the dozen piglets were sufficiently big that nine of them were to shortly rejoin their mother Gina back at the main farm.

However, my blip was taken after I had left the Grounds and was on the exit road from the Estate. I have occasionally seen wild deer in the distance there and had hoped one day to be near enough to get a photograph, and this deer was grazing quite close to the road, so that I was able to pull the car over and wind down the passenger window. I was quickly spotted, but got this shot before the deer drifted into the woods.

The work was completed when I got back, with most of the house converted to run on 220 volts instead of 240, which has had a surprisingly sizeable effect on electricity usage without making any discernible difference to how anything works.

L.
3.10.2013

Blip #1061
Consecutive Blip #006
Day #1265

Alternatives:
Stone Lion
Bowood Gardens And Grounds

Lenses: Pentax 17-70mm, Sigma 70-300mm


Bowood series
Bowood 2013 (Flickr collection)(Work in progress)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:

Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark - Electricity (1980)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.