PawsClaws n Tails outWest

By DesertP

Lion!!

Backblip #18

Finally! Two full days in Etosha had revealed no lion, but many near misses. How could I go home saying I'd been to Africa and not seen a lion?! So I headed back into the park for my last game drive. I wasn't disappointed! Within 30 minutes I had come across a whole pride guarding a giraffe kill from the night before!their bellies were full but this lioness still felt the need for a bit of a snack!can you see the banded mongoose on the tree, top left of the picture?

She didn't manage to catch this one but walked over to a nearby dead tree where I soon watched lots of scrabbling and pouncing, followed by lots of squealing... then silence, but only after she had played with it for a bit! Cats will be cats...

I can leave Etosha a very happy girl :-)

Day 5 - total distance 1521kms!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.