When I'm Sixty-Four

Just having passed my own fiftieth birthday I am completely in awe of this man, Lindsey Buckingham, who celebrated his sixty-fourth birthday this evening on stage in front of several thousand people at the new Hydro music venue in Glasgow. He, and the rest of Fleetwood Mac, were just awesome. I wasn't quite sure what to expect when L and I made our way through there. As the place filled up it reminded me of being early into a football ground and seeing the place slowly fill up. I thought, putting things into a context I could understand, that it might be a bit like the time I saw Johan Cruyff playing for Feyenoord (in the same team as a young Ruud Gullit). A great player that I could say I saw playing live, but not in his pomp. But no, it was like Newcastle v Man City in the autumn of 1983 - Keegan, Beardsley and Waddle at their best as the Toon won 5-0 in perhaps my most enjoyable afternoon of football ever. (Yes, even better than seeing United win the league, when the nerves in that second half of the game at Dens made it anything but enjoyable!) Anyway, Buckingham, Nicks, McVie and Fleetwood and their backing support still seemed to be at the top of their game as they played a mixture of some of their greatest hits as well as some newer ones. So good and they put in such a lot of effort into the gig. A good two and a half hours worth of fantastic entertainment. Even after the drive home on the M8, I'm still buzzing with it all. I laughed, I cried and cheered and clapped until my hands were sore. Those guys were an inspiration - still doing something they love well into their sixties, and doing it so well. I'm in awe.
I know the picture isn't perfect, but it was just my little camera at the gig, and I couldn't not blip the concert.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.