JohnHeuston1

By JohnHeuston1

Missing the bus

I'm blipping this from my bus journey home from work. It's been a four day week after a holiday weekend, but not to be a curmudgeon about a break, you often feel as if you're working five days in your shortened four-day week.

I caught this bus ad this afternoon. It's for The Hydro, a new music and entertainment venue in the city. I was intrigued by the line about 'missing the bus' - an appropriate one for a bus ad, of course. The phrase 'miss the boat' though is more familiar in this context, but a wee bit of research has suggested the two phrases live in harmony, meaning the same thing. Don't know about you, and as an urban land-lubber, I'd always gone for 'miss the boat'. I'd obviously missed the bus when it came to missing the bus. The speed this bus is crawling through the city though, I'd be as well on a boat. Me and boats though don't go - I've been seasick on a five-minute crossing. I'd really rather miss one.

Have a great weekend. And don't miss your figurative mode of transport.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.