JohnHeuston1

By JohnHeuston1

Top of the world

The phrase of course is well-worn, used in old movies and a load of other scenarios, from the literal (viewing decks on skyscrapers) to the metaphoric. It's more common of course to use the far more prosaic 'fine', 'ok' or 'alright' instead of top of the world, as we meet triumph and disasters as impostors, but it's great to hear the unbounded optimism and see the disarming smile of that person who says they're on top of the world.

I had vertigo as a kid but conquered my fear as I grew older. The tall building or the Munro or the airplane no longer strike fear. I finally rid myself of it when I abseiled. Standing on top of a cliff in the rural west of Scotland, I of course had the option of not, but with the gear on and a rope around my waist, and edging towards the cliff edge, I went for it. The key missing aspect in my description is of course that I went into it backwards - not because I was rubbish at it, but because that's how you do it. It was fantastic, and in a flash, my vertigo disappeared. By abseiling backwards down a cliff, I felt on top of the world.

I'm currently front and top on a bus. Before the abseiling drama, it was never for me. Downstairs, second back row - it can't be just me who has a favourite bus seat? - or a growl at the person in it, and seek alternative. Tonight, and yes, I am 'live blipping', I went upstairs. An achievement in itself if you're a tad clumsy like me, or, worse, if you have size 12 feet and opt for pointy shoes. My feet therefore are twice the length of a step on this bus. Vertigo doesn't extend to going downstairs on a moving bus, but I'm ten minutes away from my stop and frankly fearing the worst.

Upstairs on the bus gives a different perspective. A primary teacher once advised us to always look up - again, metaphorically, but for the different and new things to see. This takes on a new meaning upstairs on a bus, seeing things at this height, noticing the cafe in the bookstore I pass, the number of people who dine alone in KFC, or the architecture on that building on the corner. I feel on top of the world, and it's only an 18 bus. It's been a good couple of days professionally with fantastic student presentations, so I may be metaphorically on top of the world, but this bus seat counts too.

About to get off. Wish me luck.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.