Mouthful

How am I going to carry this then?

Grabbing the window between showers I set up the tripod on the balcony roof, the lens pointing down the steep slope of the garden. For weeks, months..no ..longer since a whole dreyful squirrels hatched burst out down there last year! I didn't at the time have the lens to cope which was a shame as there were tiny kits bouncing in gay abandon over the whole of the lawn. Since then I've never been able to see one unless very fleetingly - so I've turned into a stalker.

It was only on starting to pack everything away that I saw a movement under the hedgerow! Quietly and mouselike put the gear together again.

A very damp squirrel!! Strangely he had an acorn in his mouth. I say strangely only for me because I was 7 when we moved there and it was just an empty hillside, so someone somewhere has planted an oak tree fairly close by. Scurrying and going from one hide-hole to his other secret caches he was a busy checking burying and reburying until.....horror...he spied another squirrel coming through the hedge. A few diversionary tactics, a bit of chasing and they disappeared.

More of today with woodpigeon umbrella and a very chirpy robin!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.