Portakabin

Today was "moving into the portakabin" day (our fourth move this summer), and I'm now exhausted - physically and emotionally! I have spent most of the day trying to lift spirits because (and I can say this now that I am off-duty) we are moving into a bit of a grotty temporary building that smells damp and musty, has a mish-mash of different furniture, and a very stained carpet. And seeing the rest of the library staff moving into a plush new building, with plush new furniture, frankly makes us feel rather like the poor cousins that nobody cares about or thinks are of any importance.

There, I've got it out of my system! Now we just have to get on with it, make the most of where we are (we do have quite a lot of space so it's not all bad), and get on with our jobs after a summer of disruption. But I do hope it's not a cold or wet winter - I don't think the heating is up to much and my desk is right by the door!

Gin and tonics all round tonight - I think I've deserved a little treat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.