Whitecliff

By DaveWhitecliff

Roadkill

OK, this is unlikely ever to make it onto a greetings card or a photo calendar.

What I liked about this was the fact that a green-bodied fly (a greenbottle, yes?) was sat in the place where the dead bird's eye used to be, giving it a glint. Probably only visible if you go large.

My thoughts tonight will be, as they always are on Oct 5th, of this night in 1982, when I said goodbye to my best friend safe in the knowledge that I'd see him again within a day or two, but he never made it home.

I thought for a long time that one day it would pass; then someone helped me learn that peace comes from accepting it'll be with you forever. Like they say: some questions are never answered, only lived with.

Still miss him. Sorry for all that he missed. He'd have laughed at this photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.