River of Flowers

By doffy

New Kale on the Block

It's been a while since I took photos of the vegetables, so I had a bit of a wander round this afternoon: top left is a new kale called Red Russian, bottom left is our old friend Cavollo Nero and the red stemmed chard on the left. I cut a few leaves of an assortment of kale to add to the Saturday night curry, no need to tell you how much I enjoyed it.

I used a free iPad app called "Pic Jointer" to bring all the different shots together, if anyone is interested!

There are still bees around and an awful lot of greenfly, they seem very attracted to my sleeves!

MrD worked today, he went off on the motorbike because the forecast was good and we did indeed have a lovely warm and summery day. El P turned up as expected and removed all the rendering off the chimney, discovered that the structure is in good condition and carried out a few minor repairs. He is going to clad the whole thing with mesh before re plastering, this will hopefully happen on Monday when MrD is taking a day off to get involved with the work.

I finished repairing MrD's overalls, sewing up seams which had given way, sewing pockets back in place and putting patches on a couple of worn knees, the overalls NOT MrD's!! He now has 3 more to add to his collection!

I hope it has been a sunny Saturday where you are and that Sunday will be another lovely day for you all x

ADDED MUCH LATER: when I went outside around 9.30pm, the Moon hadn't appeared but the sky was clear and bright with stars. I saw a shooting star (I know it's a meteorite, but prefer the more romantic name!) - it was pink and very beautiful x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.