Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Walking up Cathkin Braes

I've lived on the south-side of Glasgow for over thirty years, and this is the first time I've been up here.

In mid March, I was heading south along Minard Road in Shawlands when I saw a wind turbine being installed not too far away. In the city ... not sure about this. I made enquiries, and found out it is located on Cathkin Braes, site of the Mountain Bike Course for the 2014 Commonwealth Games.

So today we went to investigate. Good paths, cyclists enjoying the challenge of a variety of difficulties on the courses. Great views north across the city, and to the west, over to the massive Whitelees Wind Farm on Eaglesham Moor.

I hope this is the only turbine planned up here. It does pinpoint a "Games" location, but I don't feel it works in a city location. I walk down Minard Road often, and have rarely seen the blades turning. They weren't moving today either. I wonder why not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.