lrjlo - Suburban Explorer

By lrjlo

Curious alpaca

Today I went to the Horniman Museum and gardens in Forest Hill, south London. I wanted to do something interesting that would take my mind off the worries involved with giving up my job and I've been meaning to go there for a while. It's a place I visited as a child but haven't been back to since.

The museum houses a collection of stuffed animals including a dodo, many other birds and a huge walrus which was apparently stuffed by somebody who'd never seen one so overstuffed it. There are some photos of these sights on Flickr . There's also a small aquarium in the basement. The museum was a bit full of screaming kids so I spent more time outside enjoying the gardens and the animal area. Despite it being October there were still a lot of flowers out and bees busy collecting nectar.

In the animal area, they have three sheep who just sat there chilling, two pygmy goats, two alpacas, about eight rabbits and some young chickens. There was a woman sitting in the rabbit enclosure just to make sure that they didn't fight as they'd just introduced some new ones. The alpaca in the photo showed some interest in me. They're beautiful creatures. One of the pygmy goats seemed interested in my camera too, although it sneezed on it which wasn't too pleasant!

I don't like being in limbo like this not having my resignation official yet and not knowing what happens next. But I feel relieved that I've found a way out of the situation. I'm also disappointed that my employer made no effort to support my mental health problems and instead decided that I wasn't right for them as soon as I disclosed my anxiety issues. I agree that the environment isn't right for me but they could have made more of an effort to help me settle in. I didn't work there long enough to have any legal rights though. I have the support of family and friends and that is what is important to me, not having a high flying career. I would like to remain financially independent but otherwise I'm not too bothered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.