JUNIOR

Oh how I hated to blip yet another cardinal at the feeder. However, this was my best photo yet of the juvenile male and I couldn’t resist showing how he’s developing. His wing feathers still have to change to red, his beak still has a bit of black instead of entirely bright orange like an adult and he’s a bit smaller than his dad yet. We started the spring with an adult male & female and I think they’ve added four more – two each in two separate broods this summer.

I’ve never had a bird feeder before this – and would have said you were crazy to think I’d be interested in having one. But because of Blip, and wanting to attract birds for potential photo options, we installed a feeder. Now I’m thoroughly enjoying everything about it. I’m amazed at the different kinds of birds it has attracted, and it’s been such fun watching their antics – bullying, taking turns, etc. Even though there’s almost always something going on at the feeder, I’ll try to rein in my urge to capture it all with the camera. It’s high time to post a bit more variety…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.