In My World

By JoanneInOz

Beach Babies

'Tis the October long weekend here in some states of Australia this weekend. I haven't a clue what the Monday holiday is for, nor do I need to know. Knowing will not change a thing in my world, or anyone else's for that matter. Knowing is not always necessary; simply accepting 'what is' is enough, especially so this weekend.

Yesterday we joined with other friends and the family of my best friend of over thirty years, Liz, as she married the love of her life in a beautiful wedding ceremony. My two daughters, along with Liz's daughter, were her bridesmaids, the three girls looking positively stunning in their aqua dresses. As for Liz, she could have arrived at the wedding wearing a sack, and still have outshone every other person there. Liz simply glowed with happiness! The joy that Liz and her new husband are feeling certainly does warm my heart.

This afternoon was spent at Fingal, walking along the beach in the warm October sunshine, clicking away with my camera and enjoying the gifts of nature. Over one-hundred photos later, the one that spoke to me the loudest was this one. Plain and simple, three very young children with not a care in the world, digging in the sand together.

I came across this quote today which sums up how I feel about life these days. For me, it is confirming that I should go with the flow, enjoy the small, unexpected, simple gifts of life, and accept these unrushed gifts as, and when, they arrive.

"The sea does not reward those who are too anxious, too greedy, or too impatient. One should lie empty, open, choiceless as a beach - waiting for a gift from the sea." ~ Anne Morrow Lindbergh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.