Day Today

By Feathers14

Walking Away

Spoiler alert! Today's Uganthem is the title of today's Blip entry. Gotta love a bit of Craig David.

-------------

As many of diary entries started as I was writing them "Eurgh, today was a super fucking early start..." Having said that, I would just like to reaffirm that I stand by the mantra Nobody ever regretted waking up early.

We woke at 5;30am to go to 'The Top Of The World' to watch the sunrise. The sun did rise, but it extended us the discourtesy of doing it behind a cloud, so all it did was get lighter. No spectacular sunrise to be seen here, then. It was still worth going, without a doubt, just not for the reasons that we initially intended.

After a long ride back from Top of the World and then an even longer ride back to look at our river, I found out that I had to wait for the rest of my sub-group to arrive. I was the advance party but it was at least a 90 minute wait for the other two, Chiraag and Adrian, to rock up. What the hell are am I gonna do for an hour and a half?

Answer: Take this picture, and then bugger off to the pub.

Best.Idea.Ever.

There was a pool table (everyone in Uganda shoots pool) next to where we could grab drinks so a couple of Eagles later (Eagle is a 6.3% sorgum beer that tastes of heaven, gets you smashed and costs 50p... Genuinely 50pence, though. Not one of these 'rounding errors' that makes things seem cheaper abroad than they are in the UK. Genuinely just 50p.) Obviously my pool was atrocious and I got my ass handed to me. Oh well.

Adrian and Chiraag eventually rocked up (after a detour) and we got on with our task. We have to find out what it is that the locals would be using the power we might be able to provide for. Luckily for us Judith was there to translate everything for us as my Rotoro (the local language) is incredibly ropey.

Back at the hostel I spoke to one of three guys who was riding his motorbike from Scotland down to Cape Town. Hearing about all their previous travels, the adventures they've been on and the sights they've seen was just mental. Fuel for inspiration and the deciding factor on me learning to ride a motorbike.

With a very surprising and pleasant phone call to round off the evening, today was a brilliant day.

This next bit gets kinda long so feel free to skip. It's essentially me thinking out loud...

Now I feel like this is it. I'm back to uni in a few days. There's a very real possibility that the rest of my life is now laid out before me and I can choose which paths to take at which points. I know the feeling of control is all just an illusion but it seems very real at the moment. Everything I've been working on was leading to this moment and now it's here. I also feel a lot like my last year at University is the time where I now design the life that I want to live once I've graduated. The number one thing that scares me most is living a life that I think is boring. It's firmly up to me to create something that I enjoy and that is deliberate because I would hate to wake up in 10 years time and realise that I didn't do what I wanted. The 'Summer That Was' already flew by far quicker than I expected and that was just a few months.

We're back to normality now...

We headed in to town and proceeded to tear up Forrest Club in a big, big way. These nights out have been incredible and this one was awesome too. Celebrations, pool (Saddler - 0, Ali - 2), dancing and good times. All of the above.

------------------

This photo is ridiculously cute. That's kind of all I have to say about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.