Day Today

By Feathers14

See(dy) Anirudh

Today Uganthem is a genius tune. Muchos love for this track...

---------------

Internet, meet Anirudh; Anirudh meet the Internet. He says 'Hi!'

I only got to know Anirudh once we were already out in Uganda but over 3 weeks we really became very good friends. He's bloody hilarious and probably deserves a month of Blip entries to himself just so you can get down all the crazy shit he got up to when we were out there. A top guy (no homo).

----------------

Top was more of a flop in terms of project work. Obviously after last night's antics there were hangovers-a-plenty to go round, but that didn't contribute to the flop. The part of the project that I'm focussed on at the moment is much more hypothetical which makes it rather frustrating to sit there whilst others are being productive and all I can get on with is faux productivity. A lot of my work is dependent upon their findings so it's all a bit slow-going at the moment. It's no one's fault at all, if I was in their shoes then it would take me much longer to get the work done, I just don't like this knowledge of needing to do work, but not being able to do it.

This feeling is of course highly different from the feeling I get when I know I have work to do, but I write Blip entries instead.... Such as this moment right now.

There was a lot of sitting around, so I guess I could say that I embraced some Ugandan culture (lots of people just sit around) but that's unfair. I did find out that a very good friend of mine also got some good news last week so that was nice.

Colin gave us a brief lecture on costs of materials that we'll need for the project and then Matt, Kris, The Bro and I all headed to Dutchess (hands-down our favourite restaurant in Fort Portal) for a business lunch.

In the evening, Rotoro's District Engineer, Adolf (he's a pretty big deal) gave us a lecture on his work and what's important to their Government. It was another insight in to the world of corporates where competing projects, both of which will deliver massive benefits to the district, are competing for finite budget and resources. The difficulty in International Development very rarely comes from where you'd expect.

You can't skip sleep, you can only borrow against it.

Tonight was the night that I had to repay my debts - I was absolutely knackered.

It was a peaceful night.

----------------

Portrait of Anirudh, isn't it. I'm not in love with the composition of the photograph but I thought the lighting was so nice, I couldn't really pass up the opportunity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.