Slanted Pine Hollow

I talked yesterday of finding ordinary magic in the world around us, of looking out for that blip which is gifted to us every day if we are alert enough to spot it. Well, I was showered with such gifts today. It was the most magical October day imaginable. The sunshine was almost unbroken, remarkable for the fact that there was actually some spectacular cloud action going on at the same time. I live on the edge of the Pennines, the backbone of England, and it was very obvious today how this long ridge of hills can divide the country in terms of weather. To the east were clear blue skies. To the west were heavy dark clouds. And that's how it stayed all day. Being caught in the middle, it could not have been more perfect for photography. The only problem on such days is choosing which shot to post. In the end I overlooked the dramatic cloudscapes for a simpler composition. This is how I will best remember today.

I had planned on going out for what I anticipated to be last long cycle ride of the year but I was a little fearful of heading out into the Dales and crossing that divide. I didn't want to lose the sunshine - which does seem to have an extraordinary magical quality to it this time of year. So I went for what was supposed to be a short run on the moor - which turned into a long run come jog come walk come photography expedition. I didn't want to come down. By the time I did I was happy to sunbathe on my balcony for an hour and do a bit of reading before heading out on the bike for a short ride to catch the last of the afternoon light. It was a day that was both busy and relaxed at the same time.

You clearly enjoyed Striding Out. I've been the privileged recipient of a lot of hearts this last week and I'm incredibly grateful. It's given me a very warm glow inside at a time when that feeling has been very welcome. A lot of you commented that he looked rather Dickensian. I think that's what appealed to me too. I had run past him a few minutes earlier and saw the potential. I just had to find the right spot and wait. The light and the clouds came together more perfectly than I could ever have imagined. I thought it was a bit special and it's been lovely to have that feeling endorsed. Thank you all again.

I'm almost at the point where I could wish for a wet weekend so I can catch up with all the jobs I need to do, and catch up with more of you. Being outside pretty much all day means that so much has been left undone. Too bad. It would have been an insult to the Gods not to have indulged in all this magic today. I hope you indulged in the same way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.