MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Golden Hour Scooby Safari

The day dawned so gloriously I felt I had to explore a bit further afield. I loved The Great British Year programme last Wednesday and immediately spotted that the footage on owls, kestrels and hares was shot at Stow Maries aerodrome.. I took my nephew for a birthday picnic there the July before last and we, and my carefully prepared repast, featured on the BBC that evening. There was talk of the airfield being sold. I went back today to check it out.

The main man there, a fantastic wildlife photographer, suggested that I should return at 4.30 in the hope of seeing some owls. I visited New Hall vineyard and shot the petrified oak forest at Mundon in the meantime.

Colin very kindly took me on a nature walk while we were waiting for Russell and then we both hopped into the Scooby. The light was fading but it was exciting to see a buzzard take a hare. Colin helped me with my settings and I got a little owl of sorts. You might just be able to see Kes on top of the middle chimney in my pic.

Love this place. :) I'm definitely going back. Russell has kindly offered to teach me his way of shooting. Full manual and no strap. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.