Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Great Grandson Tristan

Yesterday when we were with our three adult grandkids and little Tristan, I offered that we would be glad to take Tristan to church with us this morning. He absolutely loves Sunday school; he loves vacation Bible school; he loves going to family camp with us.

So late last night his mommy, Desiree, sent us a text to tell us that she and Tristan had decided to spend the night again with their cousins, Ashly and Emerson, and that Tristan would be thrilled if we'd come get him this morning so he could go to Sunday School. So that's what we did.

We picked him up, drove to church where the kids get to stay in the sanctuary singing with everyone, till "greeting time" when they get dismissed to go to their classrooms.

When "big" church concluded, I walked to Tristan's classroom to get him. He did not want to leave. He wanted to stay -- to color, to play, to continue his time there. He is certainly opposite of the child who goes screaming and yelling toward the classroom and cries the entire time he or she is there.

So when I finally coaxed Tristan out of the classroom, I found Mr. Fun where I had left him, talking to a friend, so I asked that friend to take a photo of the three of us because we are seldom all together with our hair brushed, our shirts clean, and our smiles on (I'm kidding). I just wanted a photo of the three of us.

To keep Tristan busy for the next few minutes and while we drove him back to Ashly and Emerson's house where his mom was, I handed him my camera again as I did yesterday. He discovered settings on my camera, I've never found. He figured-out how to take photos in black & white and in sepia and to take videos. Tristan definitely needs a camera. Later watching the photos he took tumble out of my camera and into my computer was hilarious--the world from Tristan's point of view.

We so enjoy spending time with him. We wish we could see him more often. This evening he is back in San Diego with his mom and preparing to get back to school tomorrow morning. We hope this week is successful for Desiree as she goes to court Thursday to learn the decision that a judge makes in regards to who will have custody of Tristan -- his mom or his dad. Makes my heart hurt.

This afternoon I spent some moments recording my students' grades and Mr. Fun watched the Formula 1 race from Korea and the Indy Car race from Houston. So that about sums-up our Sunday. Thankfully, the high winds have subsided.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.