Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Bright Brighton

Thomas was one of the boys from school chosen to attend the Brighton College Jazz Day. Their music teacher took 10 boys down to Brighton early this morning where they spent the day learning new pieces and rehearsing them for a concert at 3pm today. Parents were invited to attend the concert. Thomas has been a few times before, but I have never travelled down to see the concert, but as this is his last year at his school he asked me to go to the concert as it would be the last time he was doing this particular jazz day.

An outing to Brighton sounded quite appealing and so I left an hour earlier so that I could walk along the promenade. When I got there I could not believe what a beautiful day it was - bright sunshine, very warm, blue skies, and many people out and about enjoying the lovely weather. I felt a bit silly walking along the beach in my boots and warm clothing! The light was so beautiful and I had fun taking many photos. I loved the bands of blue colours in this shot, though my family said I should rather have blipped the mono shot of the old pier. What do you think? The light and colours was what impressed me today so that is why I rather went for the colour shot. I had forgotten just how lovely Brighton is and could easily have spent the rest of the day on the beach, waiting for the sunset which was bound to be spectacular.

The concert was very good, and at one point Thomas stood up to play a solo section of Mambo Number 5. It was a very good standard of jazz, and had children from years 7 through to A level in the band.. There was an older pupil singing, he had all the right moves and had a terrific voice - sang some Frank Sinatra numbers and a jazz version of Wonderwall.

I think a weekend in Brighton right now would be a wonderful thing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.