Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The Icelandic Sagas - Cousin It, is that you

I woke early this morning to see stars. No, I didn't fall over but there were clear skies but they clouded over again. Off to the spot we were shooting last night and the beach was all covered in snow. It was nice to do it again as I wasn't that happy with my shots from last night.

On to another huge Foss, Dynjandi which was like something out of Narnia. Icicles all on the edges and parts of it frozen solid. Multiple falls and cataracts, it was quite spectacular. We lunched by the Foss and then drove on to this place. It was on the west coast of Amarfjordur. The yellow sands are apparently caused by the seals who eat the mussels. The rocks are basalt and the mountains on the edge of the fjord are layers of basalt which reminded me very much of Greenlands east coast fjords. There were all these rocks covered in weed which reminded me rather of Cousin It.

I am now sat in the bar enjoying a cocktail waiting for dinner and enjoying the company of the group.

Tomorrow is a long day with a ferry crossing. More snow is predicted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.