Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The Icelandic Sagas - Electrifying

I had already picked my blip, had written it up and was just waiting for posting when we got to our Hotel in Budir. We had been on a 3 hour ferry crossing so there was plenty of time. On the way to the hotel after we left the ferry someone said, I think I can see stars. Then it was I think I can see some lights. Well the excitement in the truck was electrifying. There was no foreground but we stopped on the road (thank goodness for no Icelandic traffic on this road) and all set up. I could barely work the camera my hands were freezing and there was a huge wind so the tripod was unsteady. Unfortunately there was no good foreground so we took some shots and watched it for a while then piled back into the truck. When we got to the hotel we took off like rats out of aqueducts and found this church to use as a foreground. The church is associated with the hotel where we are staying. It's gorgeous. What a day. Snowing in the morning, rain, sunny breaks, lighthouses (too wet to shoot) cliffs with birds on the Eastern most point of Iceland, a fantastic calm sunny bay (for 10 minutes until it started raining again) snowy mountain crossing, a fantastic sunset and then the Northern lights to cap it off. I had given up completely on seeing them as the weather has been so lousy. I am absolutely on a high.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.