Under the spreading chestnut tree...

A very busy and productive day. Pete is teaching at Leeds University for the next three days, so after dropping him at the station, I went to purchase a few essential items from B&Q and Staples. Amazingly I managed to find everything I required!

When I came home I spent the rest of the morning sorting out my desk, which had become chaotic during the field season. Having moved and sorted all the papers and books, I replaced my computer screen with a new one I'd purchased a week or so ago but hadn't had time to set up and added a new set of speakers. The screen is superb, really sharp and with very realistic colour. I'm all ready for an autumn of serious report writing and photographic organisation now!

Alex spent the afternoon rubbing down the front door and surround, chiselling out a rotten piece of moulding that needs to be replaced and washing it all down. Chris climbed up onto one of the roofs and did a good job at trimming back the rampant ivy that was threateneing to infiltrate the fascia boards. He also cleaned out the gutters while he was up there.They're both earning their keep at the moment!

Chris and I took Rosie out for a late afternoon walk to Old Sulehay Forest, to see whether there were any fungi about. Despite last week's rain, the ground is still very dry and we saw few fungi - a scatter of tiny reddish waxcaps, some yellow waxcaps just emerging but not yet identifiable, a few clumps of honey fungus and a troop of puff-balls. I'm supposed to be leading a photo-shoot there in just over a week, so I hope there's a few more fungi by then!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.