horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Imp Ale Ment(os)

Impalement n. Transfixion. Originally the only form of capital punishment until the electric chair, involving a pointed stake, or pale. For an account of a particularly nasty nonsedentary impalement, read Hume's sympathetic and enlightened account of the reign of Edward II.

Nice idea for this one, but poorly executed... Still, I like it. The 'Imp' is actually a Tiki from the Cook Islands. And yes, he's slightly rude, but screw up your eyes and imagine it's not there. I had thought about using impoftheyard in the background...

Last night I thought I'd been doing terribly well. By chance spotting that Eddie Izzard was doing a tour later this year I checked out the ticket situation for the SECC (since he's not coming to Edinburgh). Noting that the date of November 10th rang a bell I thought it was maybe the date we were seeing Tim Minchin. But no, a quick check revealed that that was October 10th. Hurrah!

Tickets booked.

This morning I let Mel know (for she was already asleep the night before when I booked, it was to be a nice surprise you see) and it turns out November 10th was running through my head because that's the night we're seeing the Proclaimers at the Usher Hall. Damn!

So I emailed customer services this morning asking if the tickets could be exchanged for the show on the 11th, or alternatively refunded... And as I was typing this out this email came in for me.

Good morning Anthony

Thank you for your recent email enquiry.

We have a no refund or exchange policy once tickets have been purchased as per terms and conditions also unfortunately the show on 11th November has sold out so we are unable to exchange any tickets as we have no availability left.

Kind Regards


So that's that then. I'll keep hold of the tickets to try and sell closer the time (and to be honest would be happy with face value, but I might well get more than that) and keep checking on his site for an alternative plan that we knocked about. He's doing a few Scandinavian gigs, including one in Gothenburg one Sunday in the middle of December.

Okay, so it's a length to go to for a comedy show, but it would become more than that. Cheap flight out; Christmas shopping (with possible snow); see Eddie Izzard; spend night in Gothenburg; fly back. It becomes a weekend away! (and depending what I get for the tickets could already be effectively part-funded).

Hey, don't chastise me for being a ticket tout, I tried!

Right. Back to the challenge. Check out this Blip if you don't know what the word thing is all about, then give me two numbers. One between 1 and 166 for the page, and one between 1 and 5 for the paragraph, to give me my word for tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.