tonik19

By tonik19

Mushrooms in Stockholm

I arrived in Stockholm today after a 21 hour journey, only made bearable because the flight wasn't full so I got 3 seats to myself, and therefore was able to have a good sleep.

This afternoon I went for a wander around the city, and as you can imagine I have a huge number of pictures which would have made good blips, but these terrific fellows won the day!

In front of the City Concert Hall is a large market dealing mainly if fruits and vegetables with a few stalls selling flowers or trinkets.

On the flight, I read an article about people going into English forests and plundering the mushrooms meaning that prices are going up and foragers are going without. This market was full of stalls selling almost nothing but mushrooms and the varieties and sizes were fantastic. As I was looking around these two chaps said hello and wanted to chat, one of them knew my accent was from the Manchester area (Blackburn actually, over 40 years ago!) which was pretty impressive. The conversation turned to football, and I am afraid my knowledge is limited to knowing the team my son supports (Aston Villa), so it was time to say goodbye.

But, I enjoyed the banter!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.