Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Cast away

A RED-LETTER DAY ! DRIVING AGAIN !!

I was one of the first at the orthopaedic out-patient clinic, with an appointment at 8:10 am but sitting and waiting at 7:35. The junior doctors were on strike today, but the fracture clinic went ahead as normal with the big boss dealing single-handed with everyone. Strangely, this seemed to speed things up rather than slow them down, as I was called inside at 8:15 to have the cast taken off my wrist. The nurse told me I'd be sent down for an X-ray, but the main man decided there was no point doing that after the length of time the cast has been on. He reiterated that scaphoid fractures are notorious for not always mending fully, but sent me off for physiotherapy then and there, with an instruction to return for another assessment in four weeks.

So I got wrist exercises to do along with the ones I'd already been given for the elbow and a few more to target that also. I was out of the hospital before 10:00, got the bus home, and grabbed a bit of a castless lie-down. After a quick lunch it was time to pick up my new hormone injection (now to be six-monthly instead of monthly) and visit my GP for him to administer the injection. I took a sudden notion to see how I'd get on behind the wheel of the car (it's been a long time). I managed okay, so went on to the Bull Wall after seeing the doc and did a bit of shopping in Clontarf, now again able to get more than the one bag-full of stuff I've been limited to for almost three months.

So, all in all a good day. [By the way, when I get round to back-blipping yesterday it will be to share another significant event - a very pleasantly surprising one.]

And now, here's that back-blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.