Rembrandts last Painting

Today, october 8th in 1669, the World Famous Master Painter Rembrandt van Rijn was buried in a rental grave in the Westerkerk in the Jordaan. No one knows exactly where as it was not seen as important then, since he died a poor man* a few days earlier in this house on the Rozengracht 184 in Amsterdam.

* In 1655 Rembrandt was bankrupted and had to sell his house on the current Jodenbreestraat nr4 and was forced to rent the house where he passed away on oct 4th 1669.

The house doesn't exist anymore but a Memorial Stone in the current facade was added to the current house to mark the place.

As Rembrandts dramatic light is my inspiration for my dramatic light in my New Delft Blue series, I enter this homage to a great painter.

For the occasion I asked Kiravnav - a modern undiscovered master painter - to pose as 'restorer' of this memorial stone ;-))

I couldn't decide if I should only show the hand painting, or the master too, so this is my choice and the other version can be seen here.

PS. The epitaph reads: 'Here stood Rembrandt's last house 4:10:1669'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.