Snow on the Hills

After I went and had a injection in my knee at St George's Hospital I went and visited my Auntie Nancy who was 103 last May.

The first thing said to me was "hello stranger"! The last couple of times I visited her she was very unwell and I thought it would the the last time I saw her. I don't think she remembered my visits. Her mind is still very sharp and she was looking good... A new lease of life. But she said she wishes she could go to sleep and not wake up. We had a lovely chat and it great seeing her so bright.

After I left the home I noticed the hills on the Banks Peninsula had snow on them.. so took a drive through the tunnel to Lyttelton so I could get a shot of the snow. With in minutes of taking this shot the fog come down and did it rain!!! Pity the pole is in the way. All my other shots you couldn't even see the snow on the hills!

Lyttelton (Māori: Ōhinehou) is a port town on the north shore of Lyttelton Harbour close to Banks Peninsula, a suburb of Christchurch, on the eastern coast of the South Island of New Zealand.

Due to its establishment as a landing point for Christchurch-bound seafarers, Lyttelton has historically been regarded as the "Gateway to Canterbury" for colonial settlers.

The 2010 Canterbury earthquake damaged some of Lyttelton's historic buildings, including the Timeball Station. There was some damage to the town's infrastructure, but the port facilities and tunnel quickly returned to operation. The overall quake damage was less significant than in Christchurch itself, due to the dampening effects of the solid rock that the town rests on and its moderate distance from the epicentre.

On 22 February 2011 a magnitude 6.3 aftershock caused much more widespread damage in Lyttelton than its predecessor due to its proximity to Lyttelton and a shallow depth of 5 kilometres (3.1 mi). Some walls of the Timeball Station collapsed and there was extensive damage to residential and commercial property, leading to the demolition of a number of high profile heritage buildings such as the Harbour Light Theatre and the Empire Hotel. Many other unreinforced masonry buildings were severely damaged.

Much of Lyttelton's architectural heritage was lost as a result of the earthquakes, as damage was deemed too extensive for reconstruction. By June 2011, six buildings in London Street in Lyttelton had been demolished, along with another four on Norwich Quay. The town's oldest churches have collapsed, including Canterbury's oldest stone church, the Holy Trinity.
Taken From

Once I got back into the city the sun was trying to shine and there hadn't been a lot of rain.. so I was unlucky!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.