What a lovely day:-

By BKeeper

To Dally with Damsons

Here you see spiced damsons being processed in accordance with the recipe from The Punch Bowl, Crosthwaite, Nr. Kendal. They have very briefly been brought to the boil and then left overnight in the syrup. They now have to be individually removed and placed in jars. The remaining syrup is then re-boiled to thicken it and it then covers the damsons in the jars and they are sealed whilst still hot.

The recipe comes from the booklet entitled "A Taste of Damsons" by Victoria Barratt in 1997. It is a pleasure for me to make this recipe particularly as I have visited Crosthwaite and have happy memories of the place.

The real downside to the recipe this year is that I had to go to the supermarket and BUY the damsons. I was disappointed in my search for them and carrying out my usual barter. One lesson learned is that I need to plant a damson tree!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.