Parsley water-dropwort

A much cooler, more autumnal day. After dropping Alex off at Southorpe Paddock, where he was helping the Wildlife Trust replace a fence, Rosie and I had a walk round Castor Hanglands. The Herdwick sheep are back on the site, grazing a rather rank quarry area, while a herd of horses are managing the main area of Ailsworth Heath.

There were a few remaining flowers of water mint, fleabane and devil's-bit scabious and I briefly saw a hornet hunting amongst them. I was surprised at the vivid colour of the seed-heads of parsley water-dropwort, which seems to have had a good year. This species is mostly found around the coast, but occasionally grows inland in base-rich marshes.

By the time we were walking back to the car, the sky was overcast and a fresh northerly wind was blowing. I stopped to look at the flowering ivy which was clambering into the oak trees and had a very good view of a hornet feeding on the nectar. Unfortunately I'd decided not to bring the telephoto lens, and it was just too far away to get a decent shot with my 100mm macro. That'll teach me to be lazy!

After sorting out another piece of fieldwork for early November (just when I thought I'd finished!) and going to Sainsbury's, it was time to go and collect Alex. He was very well exercised, having spent the morning helping to dig a large hole into limestone to take the straining post, and much of the afternoon hammering in fence-posts using a post-driver. Conservation work is cheaper than a gym-session, and helps improve the environment as well as the muscles. Even though he has temporarily lost some of the feeling in his right arm!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.