Pyramid

John Maine’s large work 'Pyramid' stands alone at Ferry Meadows. It was influenced by his travels in South America and is carved from Portland Stone. It was acquired in 1979, and for many years my three sons would always make a point of scaling it whenever we walked past. I'm not sure whether they should have climbed on a work of art, but I'm sure they were not alone, and it seems to have survived intact, having mellowed with age, helped by a scatter of lichens.

Once again there's been little time for photography over the past couple of days. Yesterday I was busy taxiing and shopping, while today I've been engrossed with more data entry and putting up some tiles in our smaller kitchen. Rosie's been in good form, and enjoyed a walk and a swim in the river yesterday. This evening I went for a walk without her, just so that I could go at a reasonable speed and cover a bit more distace. By the time I left the house the sun was setting - luckily the colours lingered for a while and gave me something to photograph!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.