But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Brilliant.

I had an appointment at Longridge Primary School this morning, the purpose being to tell a group of five and six year-olds about bees. It went down rather well; I was impressed that they could identify a honeybee, a beehive, a bumblebee, a wasp and a wasp nest, they were, however stumped by a bumblebee nest and a hoverfly. Five out of seven was, I thought, pretty good but then one of the buggers asked me where hoverflies lived; I shall have to do some work with Google before I go back there.

The blip was taken rather hurriedly as midnight was approaching, I'll work on the methodology as I have a lot of interesting photographic stuff that can be used in case of emergency.
This Voigtlander "Brilliant V6" was not my first camera but that which I knew as a small boy when it was wielded by my father. Wikipedia describes it as "functionally a box camera" though it is rather better than that, producing good quality images on a 65 mm square negative. This model was introduced in 1937 and was superseded a year later by one that incorporated a focusing screen in the viewfinder. Interestingly, there is an exposed film in it; to the best of my recollection, the last time it was used was by myself in the late sixties so I don't think there will be anything on it worth saving.
The Old Man replaced it with an Ilford "Sportsman" in the late fifties so that he could transfer his allegiance from monochrome to colour slides.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.