EvelyneNaylorC

By EvelyneNC

A Heart

I don't know what I am trying to prove by publishing this motive. That the humble also can have beauty in it?
It is just a puddle in the sand of the trail next to the Steamboat Ditch with the shape of a heart.
Made me think.
Whenever I walk this trail, I have to think of the thousands of Chinese forced laborers that have been building this incredible water path from Lake Tahoe into our valley to bring water to the Ranchers. They often have been shanghaied during the years of great famine in China. How many broken hearts, how much longing must still be lying underneath this trail.
The clouds and some bushes mirror in the puddle, which is so unique in Reno this time of the year. Normally we don't have rain, nor puddles yet. This year winter came early and brought some clouds and some water for the plants.
And it was cold today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.