dfb24

By dfb24

Wind Point Lighthouse

This whole week has just had the most perfect weather!! Today, again, it's been sunny, 68 degrees, & just a slight breeze! I talked my husband into driving to Racine (only about a half hour away) to go look at the lighthouse there, & for me to take some pictures. I got some really nice shots of the lake, as well, & was torn over which picture to post, but in the end, went with the lighthouse. I've put some of the other shots in my blipfolio if anyone cares to look. The wind Point Lighthouse began functioning in 1880 to aide navigation around the point & into Racine harbor. Its light could be seen from 19 miles. At 108 feet, it's one of the tallest & oldest lighthouses still serving navigation on the Great Lakes. Its fog horns, which last sounded in 1964 could be heard for 10 miles. The whole point area is just gorgeous! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.