PawsClaws n Tails outWest

By DesertP

The mighty Jumulu (Baobab Tree)

A very lazy day around the house, spent mostly on the internet, ironically, trying to sort out my internet!! Amongst other mundane things...

After some delicious vegetarian Indian in the city I went with a friend to King's Park for a spot of night photography and to view the city lights. If the weather is decent tomorrow I might have to try and come back in the day time. My friend is a pretty awesome photographer and he gave me a few tips on LE. I really liked my cityscape shot but this tree won out in the end.

This majestic baobab tree was planted in King's Park in 2008 after travelling a whopping 3200km from it's original home at Telegraph Creek, near Warmun, northern WA. The construction of a bridge on the great northern highway required the tree to be removed (don't even get me started!) and so the local Gija people of the east Kimberly gifted the Jumulu to the people of Western Australia. This tree is estimated to be around 750 years old.

I'm still trying to get back into the blip groove... havn't quite made it there yet! And I'm dearly missing all your journals!! Thanks so very much for continuing to comment on my photos and give hearts and stars - I wish I could go back and than you all individually but I may be sitting in front of the computer for weeks!!! I will hopefully start catching up with you all tomorrow :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.