Still Rockin'

By RockArea

A Sailor's Grave

Blanche (my camper van) let me down last night. I stopped to pick a friend up and she refused to start again. First chilly evening and we have a flat battery (it's automatic so no bump starting). We carried on in my friend's car instead and had a jolly nice evening at the Red Rock Brewery. A bit folky but some very good folk with a lady playing eastern European gypsy violin accompanied by guitar, some good blues too. I did a couple of numbers and enjoyed it. It's a totally acoustic evening, no amplification of any kind.

Anyway, back to Blanche. I called my friendly village garage this morning and within five minutes they'd picked the key up from me and found Blanche and taken her away to measure up for a new battery. After lunch I noticed the keys on the doormat and Blanch was sitting in the driveway waiting to be packed up so we could get away on our trip tomorrow.

So a bit of delay in getting things in but we seem to be doing alright. This is the first trip away in the downsized van so I have no idea how it's going to work but what's the worst that can happen?

We're heading up Cambridgeshire and I've no idea what I'll be blipping tomorrow or even if I will be able to blip. It might be a back blip at a later stage depending on how we find things on the campsite. Priority's going to be on having a good trip.

This is the grave of Edward Leith Harvey who died in 1894 aged 34. It's in the churchyard of St. John's, Bishopsteignton and it's a rather fine piece of sculpture. I'll need to blip it from the other direction at a future time.

I hope your anchor's aweigh too!

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.