New life

This wee dot was born yesterday, named Toby. I got a text from Fernridge last night, informing me of his arrival; they didn't expect him for a while. He's about 19" tall; that's only just bigger than my gumboots!

Mum was 'a bit like a teenage mum' in so far as she wasn't overly interested in her charge. She took care of his immediate needs, but looked a little unimpressed with the reality of being a mother. She didn't even look like she'd just had a foal. She did become a little protective when Miss B tried to take off with her baby though. She'll work it out.

Bracken (Cousteau's younger brother) has arrived and is settling in slowly. Bosco is rather underwhelmed with our visitor, but is being brave and is not letting Bracken stop him from lounging around the house. I haven't seen Pio since this morning.

Off to Mass in a while and then for a dance practice with a guy I met at my Bachata lessons. B and Rae are at Weddings, one local, one on the North Island, so I'm just hanging out with the dogs and cats. Suits me fine.

Might go to join B for some dancing at our friends' 'after party' later, if I feel up to it. Right now, bed is the most attractive option.

I'll leave you to enjoy wee Toby.

~Barking~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.