RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Parade

I am a sucker for a parade, so when I heard drums and horns while enjoying a glass of wine while waiting for our to-go order to be prepared, I was out the restaurant door like a shot. I was rewarded with an awesome collection of groups marching down the street adjacent to the Plaza Grande. We were told later by the taxi driver who took us to our friend's home that the celebrations were in honor of Guadeloupe's mother. We had seen posters when visiting the Basilica the previous day, but didn't realize that it involved parades down the main streets of Patzcuaro. I was entranced by the noise, pageantry and devotion the parade goers showed. It seemed more organized than what I have become accustomed to in Zihuatanejo, but was still a chaotic affair that I was extremely happy to have witnessed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.