Acton Swing Bridge

I'm leading the walking group walk next Saturday and, despite all the time of the Big Adventure, I hadn't had time to plan it! I sorted one out last night and hoped it would prove to be ok. I set off early this morning to test it out. It was a 35 minute drive to get to the start and it was supposed to be a 5.4 mile walk. My GPS said it was actually 6.4, I did do a very minor extra to go and look at a suggested point of interest, a working dry dock and the smallest rise and fall lock in the country (6 inches), but it certainly wasn't one mile extra.

The walk went along the Trent and Mersey canal, then dropped down through the woods and returned along the River Weaver, passing Dutton Locks and the wreck of the MV Chica, which has mystery and folklore attached to it.

At the end of the walk I did a recce on two pubs for lunch next week and I was still home by 1pm. Not a bad morning! I have quite a bit to do this afternoon to prepare for tomorrow and then I am out for a meal this evening with friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.