Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

I love you (like a ball & chain)

By the Eurythmics for Diana who is 5o something today.

An iron ball and chain was a physical restraint device historically applied to prisoners, primarily in the British Empire and its former colonies, from the 17th century until as late as the mid 20th century. Often used nowadays to signify the loss of a mans freedom when he gets married. I'm only saying.

Very pleasant evening last night but what is it with these youngsters - they have no staying power. Mick, Coral Diana and myself all in out 50s. Tim and Debbie in their 40s. Adrian still in his 30s. These 3 left at about 11:30 because they were tired. The oldies on the other hand were still drinking and talking at 1:00!

Was supposed to go with the family to visit Matthew and Anna today for Diana's birthday but the leaking pipe in the cloakroom was so bad that it was filling the baking tray we had placed underneath it every few hours. I stayed back and fixed it. Shame, but hopefully I will get to see them in November.

I have other pictures in mind for this ball and chain but I wanted the first one to be pretty stark to convey what a horrible thing these were in real life. One was recently excavated and the ball weighed 8kg!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.